“Ian Gillan & The Javelins” esce il 31 agosto!

Redazione 06 lug 2018
Ian Gillan, leggendario cantante dei Deep Purple, si riunisce con la sua primissima band dei '60 e “Ian Gillan & The Javelins”. L'album esce il 31 agosto 2018 su earMusic.

Nati nei primi anni Sessanta, The Javelins sono influenzati da una miscela di pop, soul, country, jazz e blues, in arrivo perlopiù dagli Stati Uniti. Assorbono la musica dei loro eroi e si mettono a viaggiare di città in città portando uno show a base di note cover, divenendo loro stessi delle local-star. Proprio in questo periodo Ian Gillan scopre sé stesso, rompe le catene, e trova la sua voce. The Javelins aprono quindi la strada a Gillan, il quale, pochi anni dopo, prende a comporre musica con i Deep Purple, diventando uno dei frontman più iconici di tutti i tempi.

Lo scorso marzo “Ian Gillan & The Javelins” è stato registrato in cinque giorni presso i Chameleon Studios di Amburgo. Special guest: Don Airey (tastierista degli stessi Deep Purple). L’album è disponibile nei formati CD, LP e digitale.
Preorder già attivo: [link=http://iangillan.Ink.to/Javelins]

Ian Gillan & The Javelins
Ian Gillan - vocal
Gordon Fairminer – lead guitar
Tony Tacon – rhyth guitar
Tony Whitfield - bass
Keith Roach – drum

1. Do ...
l'articolo continua  
You Love Me
2. Dream Baby (How Long Must I Dream)
3. Memphis, Tennessee
4. Little Egypt (Ying-Yang)
5. High School Confidential
6. It’s So Easy!
7. Save The Last Dance For Me
8. Rock and Roll Music
9. Chains
10. Another Saturday Night
11. You’re Gonna Ruin Me Baby
12. Smokestack Lightnin’
13. Hallelujah I Love Her So
14. Heartbeat
15. What I’d Say
16. Mona (I Need You Baby)

1. Do You Love Me
2. Dream Baby (How Long Must I Dream)
3. Memphis, Tennessee
4. Little Egypt (Ying-Yang)
5. High School Confidential
6. It’s So Easy!
7. Save The Last Dance For Me
8. Rock and Roll Music

1. Chains
2. Another Saturday Night
3. You’re Gonna Ruin Me Baby
4. Smokestack Lightnin’
5. Hallelujah I Love Her So
6. Heartbeat
7. What I’d Say
8. Mona (I Need You Baby)

“In the early 1960’s, you might have seen The Beatles doing Chubby Checker’s ‘Twist and Shout’ at the Cavern Club in Liverpool, or The Rolling Stones doing Chuck Berry’s ‘Come On’ at the Station Hotel in Richmond, and The Javelins doing Howlin’ Wolf’s ‘Smokestack Lightning’ at Wistowe House in Hayes.” – Ian Gillan

Every Deep Purple true lover knows how much their magic and powerful style is the result of many different influences brought in by the single members, all merging into the powerful sound loved by millions of rock fans. Ian Gillan´s love for American soul and Rhythm & Blues as well as skiffle and early rock and roll has been well documented in many articles and interviews.

“These contemporary recordings (2018) by The Javelins are drawn from our set lists, circa 1963, when I was 18 years old. Now, a few years later, I have the privilege and joy of working with my old mates from the original group; Gordon Fairminer (Lead Guitar); Tony Tacon (Rhythm Guitar); Tony Whitfield (Bass Guitar); Keith Roach (Drums), as we make a long overdue L.P.”
Ian Gillan has defined this new studio album as “a collection of catchy rhythms and feel-good melodies”. This understating definition shows Gillan´s ability to still look at those songs and his whole career with the same eyes of the 18 year old boy who sang them many years ago.

But there is a lot more to this recordings…
By paying tribute to music legends such as Chuck Berry, The Drifters, Jerry Lee Lewis, Ray Charles, Buddy Holly and Bo Diddley, Gillan and The Javelins have not only managed to do that.

Avoiding the use of any modern technology, the band has managed to find the spontaneity and true sense of freedom of pop and rock and roll music of 50 years ago, probably without completely realizing it themselves.
One world superstar and four friends who have taken very different directions in life (none decided to “turn pro” as they would say it) but still able to capture the essence of what being a performing band is about.

This album is what happened during four days of recordings in a studio in Hamburg, Germany, where instruments, microphones, lyrics sheets and memories were the only tools allowed.

This album is not an act of nostalgia, or a celebration of the purity of the old days versus modernity.
This is simply what the Javelins were in 1963… and this is what they are now, if they happen to meet in the studio, embracing their guitars and look at each other with a big smile on their face.
This is where it all started.

© 2016 Il Volo Srl Editore - All rights reserved - Reg. Trib. n. 115 del 22.02.1988 - P.Iva 01780160154